Governor Greg Abbott stated on Friday Texas cannot accept any additional refugees in the federal refugee resettlement program, becoming the first state to reject refugees under President Trump’s September 26 executive order.

The order requires states to give written consent when they want to resettle refugees beyond June 2020. The number of refugees allowed into the United States for the fiscal year of 2020, ending in September, has been reduced to a historic low of 18,000. During the previous fiscal year, about 30,000 refugees were resettled into the U.S.

42 other states with both Democratic and Republic governors have opted into the refugee resettlement program.

“Since FY2010, more refugees have been received in Texas than in any other state. In fact, over that decade, roughly 10% of all refugees resettled in the United States have been placed in Texas,” wrote Gov. Abbott to the State Department.

“Texas has been left by Congress to deal with disproportionate migration issues resulting from a broken federal immigration system.”

Gov. Abbott noted the “consequences” of the 100,000 migrants that were apprehended crossing the Texas-Mexico border in May 2019, in addition to the individuals from 52 different countries apprehended in June 2019 that Texas was left having to deal with.

“At this time, the state and non-profit organizations have a responsibility to dedicate available resources to those who are already here, including refugees, migrants, and the homeless — indeed, all Texans,” wrote Gov. Abbott. “As a result, Texas cannot consent to initial refugee resettlement for FY2020.”